Mansour,GBL创始人

开始

6月

2009

Mansour在英国创立

专注利基市场

11月

2018

在GBL品牌下开发了脚轮

平稳交接

4月

2021

转手给SellerX

“跟SellerX的沟通进行的很顺畅,交易很透明和公开,从来没有出现我被蒙到鼓里的情况。我知道自己的选择是正确的。”

Mansour,GBL创始人

简介

Mansour在2009年大学毕业时就开始做电子商务。刚开始他从伦敦当地的仓库进货,然后在网上出售。在2018年下半年,他放弃了数百款产品,进军当时很有潜力的利基市场——自有品牌(private label),在GBL品牌下创建了Castor Wheels。数年后他的FBA业务获得了巨大的成功,年纯利润高达一百万英镑。Castor Wheels在英国、欧洲和加拿大是畅销产品,五星好评数千个,每个月的利润呈爆炸式增长。Mansour在2020年12月把GBL转手给SellerX。该品牌自那之后继续发展壮大,也已打入美国市场。

转手流程

您为什么决定出售自己的亚马逊FBA业务?

对我来说,英国脱欧的影响巨大。我一切事情都是亲力亲为,在英国脱欧前,一切都很顺利。我在加拿大出售产品,在那里有合作的清关代理和第三方物流公司,他们打理我在加拿大的全部业务。在英国我也有一个合作长达十年之久的第三方物流公司,他们处理清关等一切事宜。我只需要把集装箱进口到英国,运输到英国亚马逊处理中心即可,亚马逊处理在欧洲的分销。一切就是这么简单,毫无压力和麻烦。英国脱欧改变了这一切。把商品从英国运送到欧洲变得非常困难,即便从中国到欧洲也面临相同的问题。把商品到进口到欧洲也面临着各种各样的挑战,尤其是英国脱欧后物流行业的混乱带来了巨大的运输滞后。另外,疫情也影响了运输价格和中国的商品生产。而对我来说,一个人处理所有这些事情变得非常有难度。

您为什么决定将GBL卖给SellerX,而不是其他的亚马逊整合商?

2020年年初,我将GBL刊登在Empire Flippers上,商家也给我发了报价。当时我的亚马逊生意蒸蒸日上,我认为不应该在这时转手。六个月后,我找了一家英国代理,这家代理联系了很多整合商,我收到了很多估价单。还有一家苏格兰天使投资人也联系了我,我也接受了他的报价。我的代理之后告诉我估价中存在高达五十多万英镑的错误,所以我改变了主意,另外,鲍里斯·约翰逊在同一天又宣布封城。我琢磨着:如果现在转手,那封城的这两三个月做什么呢?我会感到无聊,所以最好再打理几个月。在这之后,Philipp(Triebel,SellerX的共同创始人和首席执行官)和我保持着联系,也断断续续地发送了几封邮件。他有意向收购GBL,也对我的公司和产品很感兴趣。我告诉他我还没有做好转手的准备,因为我想进军美国市场。我收集了大量关于GBL相对估值的信息,非常清楚它的价值。大概一个月后,我把这一数字透露给了Philipp。他说,“我们愿意买。”于是我就转手给了SellerX,因为这个价格很合理,虽然我还没有做好心理准备。另外,英国脱欧给我带来了很大的压力,我当时没有联系其他的整合商,因为我已经向SellerX摆明了价格,而它也接受了。我跟SellerX团队的其他成员沟通过,他们跟我解释了SellerX将如何发展GBL品牌。我认为SellerX是理想的买家,因此也没有必要联系其他整合商。

转手过程中,您最满意的部分是什么呢?

坦白地说,是沟通。Philipp(SellerX共同创始人)和法律团队一直跟我保持联络、更新情况。从来没有出现我被蒙到鼓里的情况,沟通自始至终都在。如果我遇到问题,SellerX会为我提供建议和操作步骤。我从来没有认为自己选择了不合适的整合商,Phillipp给我提供了极大的帮助。

转手后,您的生活发生了什么变化?

最明显的是压力,在转手前的三至六个月我承受了很大的压力,现在已经消失了。我现在跟家人相处的时间变多了,我们又开始到处旅行。目前关注的项目是慈善和房地产投资。我对转手后的变化很满意。

您接下来的计划是什么?

在我还是亚马逊FBA卖家时,我一直很担心某天早上醒来后自己的账号被封停,自己会变得一无所有。我那时的目标是择时转手业务,投资房地产,获取被动收入。而这就是我目前正在做的,将来我可能会重返电子商务行业,但是即便如此,我也不想仅仅依靠亚马逊。我还在巴基斯坦做慈善项目,希望能够把规模做得更大。

您会推荐SellerX吗?

肯定的。SellerX是很棒的收购商。

我们的故事

您是如何开始做亚马逊FBA的?

2015年,我有数百款产品,最终决定仅保留脚轮这一款产品,原因是我对它很满意:几乎没有任何差评和退货。随后我知道了自有品牌,之前我只是销售普通产品,产品和包装都没有牌子,产品的竞争非常激烈,因为不是牌子货。每个商家都在卖这些商品,就会有价格战。因此,我就将重点完全转移到自有品牌和品牌打造上。这样就没有价格战,你只需要把精力放在打造品牌上,然后根据品牌的价值进行销售。

2018年,我把脚轮的品牌名更换至GBL下,并搭配了合适的包装。另外我还研究零星的几个差评改善服务质量和产品的生产质量。之后我把重点放在产品优化上,当时我只有两款或者是四款脚轮,慢慢地每数月都会增加新的类型和尺寸。

您的产品销往哪些国家?

刚开始是英国和欧洲,之后也销往加拿大。我原本也打算进军美国市场,但是最终决定转手业务。转手后,SellerX实现了这一目标。

在做亚马逊FBA时,您一周工作几个小时?

在英国脱欧前,可能是两小时,因为90%的工作都是自动化操作,没有太多需要我做的。我的大多数时间都放在家人身上。我会管理采购、物流、点击付费广告和日常运营,但是一切都很顺利,也不太费时。

作为亚马逊FBA卖家,对您来说,最大的挑战是什么?

我一直都很担心账户被封停,但是,对我来说最大的担忧是英国脱欧。它给我带来了很大的影响:各种进口关税和延迟。之前需要一周时间,英国脱欧后,需要几个月。其次是库存问题。在这方面,我没有办法获取帮助,因为没有专业的顾问。我太太帮我做决定,我父母也提供帮助,但是我未能获得专业的财务和管理方面的帮助。

TELL US ABOUT YOUR BUSINESS

TELL US ABOUT

YOUR BUSINESS

您只需提供一些简单的信息,即可开启下一段新旅程

向我们介绍 您的创业故事 开启下一段旅程

您只需提供一些简单的信息,即可开启下一段新旅程

TELL US ABOUT

YOUR BUSINESS

TELL US

ABOUT

YOUR

BUSINESS

联系我们

info@sellerx.com

柏林


Jägerstraße 41
10117 Berlin
Germany
info@sellerx.com

伦敦


10 Bloomsbury Way
London WC1A 2SL
United Kingdom
info@sellerx.com

迈阿密


200 South Biscayne Boulevard
Miami, FL 33131
United States
info@sellerx.com

深圳


Gem Tower, 3033 Zhongxin
Road, Nanshan District
Shenzhen, 518054
深圳
infocn@sellerx.com

CN

Mansour , founder of GBL

Start

Jun

2009

Founded by Mansour in the UK

Niche Focus

Nov

2018

Castor wheels under GBL brand

Exit

Apr

2021

Sold to SellerX

“The communication with SellerX was great. It was a really open and honest deal, and I never once felt like I was left in the dark. I know I chose the right aggregator.”

Mansour, founder of GBL

Intro

Mansour springboarded his way onto the e-commerce game fresh out of university in 2009. His journey began by buying stock from local warehouses in London and selling online. In the latter part of 2018, he ditched hundreds of products in favour of private labelling— a promising niche, Castor Wheels, under his brand GBL. A couple of years later, he had a massively successful FBA business, turning over £1M in net profit annually. The castor wheels were top sellers in the UK, Europe and Canada with thousands of five-star reviews and profits were increasing exponentially each month. Mansour sold GBL to SellerX in December 2020. Since then, the brand continues to thrive and has even expanded its trades to the US market.

Selling Process

Why did you decide to sell your Amazon FBA business?

Brexit had a huge impact on me. I was doing everything myself, and prior to Brexit, it was going smoothly. I was selling in Canada. I had a custom clearance agent, and 3PL there. They were handling the whole Canada side of things. I had a very good 3PL in the UK, which I’d been using for ten years. They would also handle custom clearance and everything. I used to just import the containers to the UK, ship it to the Amazon UK fulfillment center and then Amazon handled the Europe side of distribution. All very easy. No stress, no headache. Brexit changed all that. It became a huge nightmare to get products from the UK to Europe, even from China to Europe. There were different sorts of challenges with import duties within Europe, huge delays getting stock from UK to EU due to logistic chaos right after Brexit. COVID-19 had also impacted freight rates and production time from china; all these were becoming quite difficult to handle all by myself

Why did you decide to sell to SellerX over other Amazon aggregators?

In early 2020, I listed GBL on Empire Flippers and they gave me a valuation. My business was growing month-on-month, so I decided it would be wrong to sell it yet. Six months later, I approached a broker in the UK, they contacted a lot of aggregators and a lot of them put in an offer. There was an angel investor from Scotland interested too, and I actually accepted his offer. Later, my broker told me there was a mistake in the valuation, and it was considered to be worth over half a million Pounds more, which was huge. So I decided not to sell because Boris Johnson announced another lockdown on the same day. I thought if I sell it now, what am I going to do for the next two, three months in lockdown? I’ll just get bored, so might as well hold on to it for another few months. Philipp (Triebel, SellerX Co-Founder and CEO) kept in contact and emailed me on and off after that. He was interested in buying the business and showed a really genuine interest in my company and the products. I told him I wasn’t ready to sell yet because I wanted to launch in the US. I did a lot of research on what the multiples were for my company. I was confident in what would be a fair price for what I had. A month or so later, I told Philipp the price. He said, “we’ll buy it.” So, I sold to SellerX, even though I was not mentally prepared to sell, but because the offer was fair. The challenges with Brexit were becoming stressful for me too. I didn’t go to any other aggregators then because I put my price on the table and SellerX accepted it. I spoke with other members of the team and they explained how they’d been able to scale the brand. I felt SellerX were the right people to sell to and there was no point talking to anyone else.

What was your favourite part of the selling process?

The communication, to be honest. Philipp (SellerX Co-Founder), and the legal team were always in touch, updating me with what was going on. I never felt I was being left in the dark. There was constant communication. If I had any concerns, someone was reachable to advise me on what to do and how to do it. Never at any point have I thought I chose the wrong aggregator. Phillipp has been really, really helpful.

How has your life changed since selling?

The first thing is the stress that I was experiencing in the three to six months before selling. All that stress has gone. Now, I spend so much time with my family. We started traveling again, going on small trips here and there. I’m focusing on charity projects too and investing in real estate. I’m quite happy with how it’s turning out.

What will you do next?

As an Amazon FBA seller, I always feared I could wake up one day with my account suspended and I would have nothing. My goal was always to flip my business at the right time and invest in real estate, which brings a passive income. This is what I’m doing right now. I’ll probably come back to the e-commerce space later, but I don’t want to rely entirely on Amazon. I’m also doing some charity work back in Pakistan and I want to do that on a much bigger scale.

Would you recommend SellerX?

Yes, definitely. SellerX is a great aggregator.

Our Story

How did you start your Amazon FBA business?

In 2015, I had hundreds of products, but decided to get rid of them all just to concentrate on the castor wheels because I was very happy with them. There were hardly any negative reviews or returns. Then I got to know about private labelling. Before, I was selling everything generically. There was no branding or branded packaging. There was a lot of competition with the other products because they were not branded. Every other person was selling these items and there were price wars and things like that. So, I entirely changed the focus to private labelling and building a brand. That way, there are no price wars. You just work on building a brand and then sell according to what the brand is valued.

In 2018, I focused on rebranding the castor wheels under GBL, with proper packaging and everything. I improved the quality too by looking at the few negative reviews received, and improved the products through manufacturing. Then, I focused on the listing optimization. At that time, I had two or four castor wheel models, but gradually, I added new models and new sizes every few months.

Where did you sell your products?

In the UK, Europe. Later, I started selling in Canada too. I was preparing to scale to the US as well, but decided to sell the business before doing that. SellerX took over and brought the products to the US.

How many hours a week did you work on your Amazon FBA business?

Before Brexit, maybe two hours a week because it was already, I would say, 90% automated. There wasn’t much I had to do. I spent most of my time with my family. I would manage the whole sourcing and logistics, the PPC, and just keep an eye on the day-to-day stuff, but it was all going very well and wasn’t too time-consuming.

What were the biggest challenges as an Amazon FBA seller?

The fear of having my account suspended was always on the back of my mind. But, the main concern for me became Brexit. It had a huge impact on me with the different import duties and delays. Something that used to take a week to arrive was taking months and then there were stocking issues. I didn’t have anyone specifically to help me with it. I didn’t have any professional advisers. My wife helped me make decisions. My parents helped me, but I didn’t have anyone professionally to help me with the financial or the administration side of things.

Products

GBL’s Castor Wheels

GBL’s castor wheels have been a long standing top seller on Amazon in Europe with thousands of five star reviews.

GBL's Castor Wheels

One of the many top sellers with monthly sales upwards of 2,000 units.

GBL's Castor Wheels

Sales of these heavy-duty castor wheels with two breaks, and the rest of the GBL portfolio, have increased since acquisition.

TELL US ABOUT YOUR BUSINESS

TELL US ABOUT

YOUR BUSINESS

Get started on your journey to what’s next by giving us some information about you and your business.

TELL US ABOUT YOUR BUSINESS

Get started on your journey to what’s next by giving us some information about you and your business.

TELL US ABOUT

YOUR BUSINESS

TELL US

ABOUT

YOUR

BUSINESS

Contact

info@sellerx.com

Berlin

SellerX
Jägerstraße 41
10117 Berlin
Germany
info@sellerx.com

London

SellerX
10 Bloomsbury Way
London WC1A 2SL
United Kingdom
info@sellerx.com

Miami

SellerX
200 South Biscayne Boulevard
Miami, FL 33131
United States
info@sellerx.com

Shenzhen

SellerX
Gem Tower, 3033 Zhongxin
Road, Nanshan District
Shenzhen, 518054
China
infocn@sellerx.com

EN